Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 23rd, 2007

This Friday, my friend Anne asked me to answer some questions she raised in her blog, as is part of the game. I received similar requests before but I didn’t accept them coz I found some of them were either privacy-probing or too meaningless to answer.  Partly also due to my laziness. This time, there are only 5 questions, which is not beyond my patience.  Now, here come the answers:
 
1.  Will you still love her if you cannot be together due to one reason or another?
 
Answer:  The love will stay, but in another form.
 
2. What were you thinking about and doing before you were reaching thirty?
 
Answer: I was struggling my way out in a state-owned company and thinking about doing sth to get closer to my dream, though I am still struggling for it.
3. How will you spend it if tomorrow is the doomsday?
Answer: I will do nothing about it as I already know my fate.
 
4. Which will you choose, ones that have blood ties with you or your lover?
 
Answer: The former.
 
5.What kind of rainy day do you like?
 
Answer: I like walking in a drizzle that slowly wets my hair, but doesn’t s make me soaked through.
 
And, let the game stop here, not being a burden of others.

Read Full Post »

Smoky Days!

The weather in Beijing is so terrible that I really can’t bear it any longer. Humid and sultry, I keep sweating when I go outside the door ( I’m not that fat yet!).  The sky is filled with grey clouds but not a single drop of rain falls from the sky. The clouds seem to be descending slowly from the sky and driving you out of breath.
 
The air smells more peculiar in the evening. And it is foggy. The weather is generally fine in this season in Beijing, but it seems different this year.
 
Several days ago, I read a newspaper and learned the reason. Some peasants in the nearby Hebei Province burnt the stalks and the smoke was so heavy that it floated to Beijing. This reminds me a similar news several years ago. The peasants in Shuangliu county, Chengdu,the capital of Sichuan province, burnt the stalks after harvest and the heavy smoke had caused the airport nearby to be closed for several days: The airplanes simply couldn’t find their routes to land and take off!

We all know the environmental problems are deterioating in China, and we still we have a long way to go in educating our people to pay more attention to it. However, a hungry man’s first need is to fill up his stomach, so we have to develop our economy and make our people rich. An old Chinese saying goes like this,” People behave well when they are well off.” You can’t count on a hungry man to pay attention to the environmental factors. Only at that time, can we help them build up their awareness of environmental protection. And I do hope it will not be too faraway from us.

Read Full Post »